About Us

The Welsh School of Anaesthesia has responsibility for the organisation and delivery of core and specialist training in anaesthesia and ACCS in Wales. It also incorporates the ICM specialist training committee which is responsible for training for the CCT in ICM.

Wales is the only Deanery in the UK to offer a GMC-approved CT3 year to all trainees appointed to a core-training programme in anaesthesia. During this CT3 year, there will be an opportunity to spend a 6-month placement in a complementary specialty e.g. general medicine, paediatrics, emergency medicine or intensive care medicine, and consolidate your anaesthetic knowledge and skills before progression to StR training years.

A wide variety of anaesthetic training opportunities are provided within the hospitals of the Welsh School and it has a proven track record of providing excellent opportunities for training in research within the large teaching hospitals. Trainees are encouraged to gain experience overseas or in other specialist centres in the UK, and if applicable, less than full-time training is available and well-supported within all anaesthetic departments.

Contact Information

For all queries regarding your training, please contact your relevant Training Programme Director; email addresses can be found below.

Head of School Anaesthesia & ICM

Dr Sarah Harries
Department of Anaesthetics,
University Hospital of Wales,
Heath Park,
CF14 4XW
Email: Sarah.Harries5@wales.nhs.uk

Deputy Head of School

Dr Caroline Evans
Department of Anaesthetics
University Hospital of Wales
Heath Park,
CF14 4XW
Email: cevansbja@gmail.com

Core Training Programme Director

Dr Graeme Lilley
Department of Anaesthetics
Nevil Hall Hospital
Email: coretpdanaesthesiawales@gmail.com

Specialist Training Programme Director

Dr Libby Duff
Department of Anaesthetics
Royal Gwent Hospital
Email: dufftpd@gmail.com

RCoA Regional Adviser & Lifelong Learning Platform Lead

Dr Simon Ford
Department of Anaesthetics
Morriston Hospital,
Heol Maes Eglwys,
Email: Simon.Ford@wales.nhs.uk

Regional Advisor in Pain Medicine

Dr Sonia Pierce
Dept of Anaesthetics,
Glan Clwyd Hospital,
LL18 5UJ
Email: Sonia.Pierce@wales.nhs.uk

Deputy Training Programme Directors

Dr Lisa Handcock - North Wales
Email: Lisa.Handcock@wales.nhs.uk
Dr Mike Adamson - South Wales
Email: Michael.Adamson@wales.nhs.uk

Specialty Training Manager

Liz Babbage
HEIW Headquarters
Ty Dysgu
Cefn Coed
CF15 7QQ
Email: Liz.Babbage@wales.nhs.uk

Specialty Training Assistant

Briany Morgan
HEIW Headquarters
Ty Dysgu
Cefn Coed
CF15 7QQ
Email: briany.morgan@wales.nhs.uk

Less-Than-Full-Time Training Advisor

Dr Elizabeth Boucher
Email: elizabethkboucher@hotmail.com

Trainee Reps

Dr Suzi Braggins and Dr Fran Teasdale (Core) - suzi.braggins@hotmail.co.uk & f_teasdale@hotmail.com
Dr Jennifer Myo (Intermediate) - Jennifermyo@gmail.com
Dr Lucy Emmett (Higher) - lucyemmett@doctors.org.uk
Dr Rowenna Morris Clarke (LTFT) - rowennamorrisclarke@hotmail.co.uk

Intensive Care Medicine

Regional Advisor
Dr Matt Dallison,
Critical Care Unit,
Morriston Hospital,
Heol Maes Eglwys,
Email: Matthew.Dallison@wales.nhs.uk

ICM Training Programme Director
Dr Bethan Gibson
Royal Glamorgan Hospital
Email: Bethan.Gibson@wales.nhs.uk


Dr Louise Allman
Consultant Anaesthetist Neville Hall Hospital Abergavenny
Email: Louise.Allman2@wales.nhs.uk
Please contact TPD of parent speciality if there are any issues

Pre-Hospital Emergency Medicine

Training Programme Director
Dr Stuart Gill
Glangwili Hospital
Email: Stuart.Gill@wales.nhs.uk