Advanced Anaesthetic Training

Advanced Training

Training Overview

One year of advanced training must be completed by all trainees, generally during years 6&7. Non clinical units such as research and teaching may be done in ST 5. This needs to be prospectively approved by the RCoA Training Committee. Advanced training does not have to be completed in a single 12 month block; it could consist of two separate 6 month blocks either in the same or different hospitals. Delivery of these modules also depends on training capacity at each individual hospital

The 12 months advanced training can be made up of a number of different options eg:

  • One year of advanced training in a single subspeciality
  • One year of advanced training in general duties
  • A combination of research/teaching/management and subspeciality/general duties advanced training
  • A combination of 6 months subspeciality and 6 months advanced general duties
  • Two separate 6 month blocks in two subspecialities including ICM

Not all aspects of subspeciality advanced training can be provided within the Welsh school. Trainees wishing to subspecialise should speak to consultants in their chosen area for detailed advice.
There is an expectation that trainees wishing to specialize will do audit/research in that area, belong to a specialist society and attend their national meetings.

Programmes for advanced training can be adapted for each individual trainee and must be agreed by the Training Programme Director. At the end of ST4 year, trainees will be invited to attend a series of lectures outlining the advanced training options within the School. Following preferencing, all trainees will be interviewed early in their ST5 year for their top 2 advanced training preferences.
This also gives trainees an opportunity for a consultant panel to review their CV's in preparation for CCT.
Advanced training placements and the final 2 years hospital placements will be confirmed with each trainee after interviews and competitive selection has been finalised.

The RCoA curriculum Annex E sets out indicative programmes for the following subspecialities:

  • Anaesthesia for neurosurgery, neuroradiology and neurocritical care
  • Cardiothoracic and cardiac intensive care
  • Intensive care medicine
  • Obstetrics
  • Paediatrics
  • Pain Medicine
  • Plastics/Burns

General duties, which includes a mix of the following sub-units:

  • Airway management
  • ENT, maxillo-facial and dental surgery
  • General, urological and gynaecological surgery
  • Hepatobiliary surgery
  • Vascular
  • Day surgery
  • Sedation (and further advanced optional unit in sedation for dentistry)
  • Orthopaedic surgery
  • Regional
  • Trauma
  • Transfer
  • Perioperative Medicine

In addition there are 3 non-clinical options:

  • Academic/research
  • Teaching/learning
  • Management

ALL of the above advanced training modules are available within the Welsh School of Anaesthesia in selected sites, with the exception of neuro-anaesthesia.

See link to the RCoA curriculum Advanced Level Curriculum and a selection of the Advanced training options with the required expectations below.