About Us

The Welsh School of Anaesthesia has responsibility for the organisation and delivery of core and specialist training in anaesthesia and ACCS in Wales. It also incorporates the ICM specialist training committee which is responsible for training for the CCT in ICM.

A wide variety of anaesthetic clinical and non-clinical training opportunities are provided within the 11 training hospitals in the Welsh School and it has a proven track record of providing excellent opportunities for training in research within the large teaching hospitals. Trainees are encouraged to gain experience overseas or in other specialist centres in the UK. If applicable, less than full-time training is widely available and well-supported within all anaesthetic departments.

Contact Information

For all queries regarding your training, please contact your relevant Training Programme Director; email addresses can be found below.

Head of School Anaesthesia & ICM

Dr Sarah Harries
Department of Anaesthetics,
University Hospital of Wales,
Heath Park,
Cardiff.
CF14 4XW
Email: Sarah.Harries5@wales.nhs.uk

Deputy Head of School

Dr Caroline Evans
Department of Anaesthetics
University Hospital of Wales
Heath Park,
Cardiff.
CF14 4XW
Email: Caroline.Evans10@wales.nhs.uk

Core Training Programme Director

Dr Graeme Lilley
Department of Anaesthetics
Nevil Hall Hospital
Abergavenny
Email: coretpdanaesthesiawales@gmail.com

Specialist Training Programme Director

Dr Libby Duff
Department of Anaesthetics
Royal Gwent Hospital
Newport
Email: dufftpd@gmail.com

RCoA Regional Adviser & Lifelong Learning Platform Lead

Dr Simon Ford
Department of Anaesthetics
Morriston Hospital,
Heol Maes Eglwys,
Morriston,
Swansea
Email: Simon.Ford@wales.nhs.uk

Regional Advisor in Pain Medicine

Dr Sonia Pierce
Dept of Anaesthetics,
Glan Clwyd Hospital,
Rhyl
Denbighshire
LL18 5UJ
Email: Sonia.Pierce@wales.nhs.uk

Deputy Training Programme Director

Dr Mike Adamson - South Wales
Email: Michael.Adamson@wales.nhs.uk

Specialty Training Manager

Liz Babbage
HEIW Headquarters
Ty Dysgu
Cefn Coed
Nantgarw
CF15 7QQ
Email: Liz.Babbage@wales.nhs.uk

Specialty Training Assistant

Briany Morgan
Email: briany.morgan@wales.nhs.uk
Claire Foster
Email: heiw.schoolsupport@wales.nhs.uk

Less-Than-Full-Time Training Advisor

Dr Elizabeth Boucher
Email: elizabethkboucher@hotmail.com

Trainee Reps

Dr Fran Teasdale (Core) - f_teasdale@hotmail.com
Dr Jennifer Myo (Intermediate) - Jennifermyo@gmail.com
Dr Ifan Patchnell (Higher) - ifanpatchnell@gmail.com
Dr Lucy Stacey (LTFT) - lucy.stacey@wales.nhs.uk

Intensive Care Medicine

Regional Advisor
Dr Matt Dallison,
Critical Care Unit,
Morriston Hospital,
Heol Maes Eglwys,
Morriston,
Swansea
SA6 6NL
Email: Matthew.Dallison@wales.nhs.uk

ICM Training Programme Director
Dr Bethan Gibson
Royal Glamorgan Hospital
Llantrisant
Email: Bethan.Gibson@wales.nhs.uk

ACCS Lead

Dr Louise Allman
Consultant Anaesthetist Neville Hall Hospital Abergavenny
Email: Louise.Allman2@wales.nhs.uk
Please contact TPD of parent speciality if there are any issues

Pre-Hospital Emergency Medicine

Training Programme Director
Dr Syed Masud
Email: syed.masud@wales.nhs.uk